Café Louvre / PRAGUE

Started in 1902 and revived in 1992 after its business was interrupted by the communist coup in 1948, Café Louvre has a rich history and used to be the working space of many famous people in Czech such as Albert Einstein. I was surprised to see how big the café is when I visited.

IMG_9344

It’s located on a fairly busy street, and is also a short walking distance from the National Theatre.

IMG_5614

Although the place is huge, it is so popular that there are many many tables and each table is pretty close to each other. So overall your dining space is not that spacious. You are free to choose any empty table and a waiter/waitress will come and serve you fairly quickly. The café is really busy all the time (I went once in the afternoon and once at dinner time) but their service is still really good!

IMG_5620

You can see the baristas brewing coffee at the bar in the open, and there are also some desserts of the day on display. Other dishes are prepared in the kitchen inside.

IMG_9346

I ordered a Grand Cappuccino Louvre for myself. It came in a nice glass with handle (European style yay!) and the foam was just the right amount (many places would make my cappuccino wayyyyy too foamy). The Hot Chocolate Louvre was really nice too, and I liked how they separated the whip cream so you can add it according to your personal preference. Both drinks came with a tiny glass of sparkling water. I’m not really sure why but I guess it’s a thing. I also ordered a single scoop of vanilla ice cream because it’s cheap (lol), but it came with a piece of waffle cookie haha. So cute!

Processed with VSCO with hb2 preset
(top) Hot Chocolate Louvre, 59 CZK / (bottom right) Grand Cappuccino Louvre, 65 CZK / (bottom left) Vanilla Ice Cream, 22 CZK

I really love this café because not only is it historical and beautiful, but it also has really great food/drinks at a good price! Fell in love with it the first time I went, and visited again on my last day in Prague! 🙂 I would definitely recommend this place to anyone who’s visiting the city!

  • Food: ★★★★★
  • Service: ★★★★★
  • Environment: ★★★★★
  • Price: ~150 CZK per person (drink + dessert)
  • Suitable for: any meal or just a drink, but not too many people

 

Leave a Reply

